Astrophotography

Astrophotography Tutorials – Intro

Intro

This tutorial will cover the basics of astrophotography along with a guided example using a entry level SLR and a kit lens.  The goal will be to produce:

  • A simple single frame still
  • A basic time lapse
  • Creating star trails time lapse
  • Star tail time lapse with zoom
  • Stacking images to reduce noise
  • Milkyway photography

I’ll link out to other tutorials I have learned from rather than rehashing tutorials others have already created and give any tips I can think of.  I’ll give examples of what I have after each step so you can see what you can expect if you follow along at home.

Requirements

First things first – here’s a list of what I’ve used and you will need:

  • Pretty much any camera with manual controls and a wide angle lens that can mount on a tripod, I’d recommend a DSLR or mirrorless camera
  • A tripod – even a mini one will do.  If you take this any further  I’d recommend a proper tripod.
  • An intervalometer (if you want to do time lapses) some cameras come with one, mine does not.  Get a cheap one, I’m using a Neewer one that cost less than 20 euro
  • Relativity clear sky
  • Other things you might want to consider include a headlamp and some warm clothing

Software

The software I’ll be using:

  • Post Processing – I’ll give 2 examples because Lightroom is not free:
    • Lightroom
    • Canon DPP for Canon but other brands have their own similar software
  • Startrail Software
    • StarStax or Startrails
  • To animate a time lapse:
    • LRTimeLapse (only works with lightroom)
  • General Image manipulation
    • GIMP (Photoshop is obviously great at this too)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

